“Wednesday” Poetry (This doesn’t mean it’s going to be weekly!)

Remember about that little blue book I told you about? Well I have a few more poems for you now.

The Other Night

I’ll never forget
the one day I took
to spent one lonely night with you.
We stayed up and laughed
‘Till we heard my brother yell
We giggled some more
then tried to settle down
But of course it doesn’t work,
After all, we didn’t want it to.
We cracked some crazy jokes and whispered weird things,
but then against our own will
we feel our eye lids droop
then we fall into the world of dreams

Gaps and Bridges

I’m in need, I’m struggling.
Fighting for what I believe in,
For what I love.
I feel there’s something missing inside of me,
Something big, leaving a gap.
I’ve tried to build a bridge across it.
With “love,” possessions and sometimes anger.
But recently I found something.
Something important, something strong.
It’s better then “love”
It builds a better bridge,
To the other side of my heart.
It’s made of wood like all the others
But this one…
This one’s different.
It’s full of love
Not fake love that seems perfect and everyone wants,
But love.
Love that would die to save you,
…Or even if it only meant a chance at saving you.
This bridge, this cross,
Meant destruction for my love, my Jesus
He didn’t claim he’d save me if if I believed in him.
He promised.
He promised nothing would be in vain if it was in his name and rightly so.
He promised he would not only build me a bridge
But he would fill the gap,
He’d make me whole!

This next one I wrote for a little girl at my school who was sitting beside at the time. Her name is EmilyAnn, but I shortened it so it would fit a little better in the poem.

That Monkey

Emi, Emi sitting in a tree,
Did you pet that monkey?
Did little Emi really pet
That monkey in the net?
That monkey’s blue
The bluest hue
Ever seen by you!

Leave a comment